Press Room

Published by: RAK Half Marathon
Category: Race News
Fri 15 Feb, 2013


Lucy Kabuu of Kenya with 1:06:09, the second fastest time in history, and her compatriot Geoffrey Kipsang in 58:54, took the winners’ spoils in the women’s and men’s races respectively at the 7th edition of the RAK Half Marathon on Friday morning. Kenyan strength in depth was underlined as they took the first three in each elite contest, though the contrasting nature of the two races could hardly have been greater.

The women started on world record tempo (5k in 15:35, 10k in 31:18) then slowed slightly, while the men set off cautiously (5k in 14:04, 10k in 28:13) but picked up to run substantial negative splits (first 10k 28:13, second 10k 27:50!). But the resulting times were of similar calibre with both races showing unprecedented quality amongst the top results; the first five men dipped under the hour, including for the first time ever, the first three coming home under 59 minutes, while the first four women went under 1:07:00. Behind Kabuu, Priscah Jeptoo with 1:06:11 not only set a personal best by over four minutes but also became the third fastest in history, while Rita Jeptoo in third (1:06:27) slotted in to fifth position on the all-time list. In fourth, Meseret Hailu with 1:06:56, set an Ethiopian record.

Behind Kipsang’s personal best, which itself was just two seconds shy of the 58:52 course record of Patrick Makau set in 2009, Stanley Biwott’s 58:56 was also a huge personal best and third placed Geoffrey Mutai, with 58:58, also became a member of the exclusive sub-59 minute club with his best ever by 32 seconds; for him, it augurs well for his spring marathon.

Official result of 7th RAK Half Marathon, Friday 15th February 2013:

1Geoffrey Kipsang (KEN)58:541 Lucy Kabuu (KEN) 1:06:09
2Stanley Biwott (KEN) 58:562Priscah Jeptoo (KEN)1:06:11
3Geoffrey Mutai (KEN)58:583Rita Jeptoo (KEN)1:06:27
4Feyisa Lilesa (ETH)59:254Meseret Hailu (ETH)1:06:56
5Stephen Kibet (KEN)59:595Florence Kiplagat (KEN)1:07:13
6Joel Kimurer (KEN)1:00:026Helah Kiprop (KEN)1:07:39
7Getu Feleke (ETH)1:00:267Meselech Melkamu (ETH) 1:08:05
8Edwin Kipyego (KEN) 1:00:548Paskalia Kipkoech (KEN)1:08:08
9Daniel Wanjiru (KEN) 1:01:109Feyse Tadese (ETH)1:08:35
10Pius Maiyo Kirop (KEN)1:01:2510Ashu Kasim (ETH)1:08:56