About RAK

Editor’s Note

Overview of the United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.)

Despite the modern-day prominence of Dubai, it’s essential to remember that Dubai is just one of seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.). Another emirate, Ras Al Khaimah (RAK), is entirely separate from Dubai.

The Emirates of the U.A.E.

  • Abu Dhabi (Capital)
  • Dubai
  • Sharjah
  • Ajman
  • Umm Al Quwain
  • Ras Al Khaimah
  • Fujairah

Quick Facts About Ras Al Khaimah

  • Population: Approximately 214,000
  • Area: 1,684 square kilometers / 650 square miles
  • Coastline: 40 kilometers
  • Climate: High temperatures and humidity in summer; moderate winter weather
  • Languages: Arabic and English
  • Religion: Islam
  • Local time: GMT + 4
  • Currency: UAE Dirham
  • Coordinates: 25°47’N 55°57’E

Geography and Governance

Ras Al Khaimah is located between the Hajjar Mountains to the east and the Arabian Gulf to the west, sharing mountainous borders with Oman. The emirate has been ruled by a member of the Al Qasimi family since 1948.

City of Ras Al Khaimah

The capital city of Ras Al Khaimah is split by a creek into two distinct areas:

  • Western Part (‘Old Ras Al Khaimah’): This area includes government departments, educational institutions, shopping malls, hotels, residential areas, and new construction projects.
  • Eastern Part (‘Al Nakheel’): This part features the Emiri Court, additional governmental departments, markets, the Ras Al Khaimah Exhibition Center, hospitals, and residential areas housing most of the city’s population.

The two parts are connected by a bridge and a network of modern roads, ensuring smooth transit across the city.